Home Politics Seven governors shun APC emergency meeting

Seven governors shun APC emergency meeting


Omenihu Alfred fibmn

Seven governors of the ruling All Progressives Congress APC on Sunday boycotted the emergency meeting summoned by the Senator Abdullahi Adamu-led National Working Committee NWC of the party. The meeting which began at 2:35pm was convened to address issues relating to the party’s state of preparedness for Saturday’s Presidential and National Assembly Elections vis-a-vis the worsening scarcity of the Naira and lingering fuel shortages which have fuelled mass discontent across the country.

Those who were absent include Babagana Umara Zulum (Borno), Ben Ayade (Cross River), Dave Umahi (Ebonyi), Abdullahi Umar Ganduje (Kano), Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq (Kwara), Dapo Abiodun (Ogun) and Rotimi Akeredolu (Ondo).

However, Govs. Aminu Bello Masari (Katsina) and Hope Uzodinma (Imo) however sent their deputies while those who attended the meeting in person were Simon Bako Lalong (Plateau), Abdullahi Sule (Nasarawa), Abubakar Sani Bello (Niger), Nasir El-Rufai (Kaduna) and Yahaya Bello (Kogi), Mohammed Inuwa Yahaya (Gombe), Mai Mala Buni (Yobe), Bello Matawalle (Zamfara), Biodun Oyebanji (Ekiti), Babajide Sanwo-olu (Lagos), Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi) and Mohammed Badaru (Jigawa).
Presidential Candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress APC, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu however stormed the meeting halfway.
A source who was privy to some discussions at the meeting said Adamu expressed displeasure at the outbursts of some of the governors against President Muhammadu Buhari on the Naira redesign policy as the chairman noted that such outbursts were putting the party in bad light.

However, one of the governors also reacted that if the party had taken a position on the matter before now, that perhaps the governors would not have gone public. He complained that the meeting was coming too late.