Home Impact Sports NPFL Clubs Vote to End 2019/2020 Season

NPFL Clubs Vote to End 2019/2020 Season


A total number of Seventeen chairmen of Nigerian Professional Football League (NPFL) top-flight clubs have voted to abruptly end the current 2019/2020 season disrupted by the dreaded Corona Virus.

According to a statement by the Club Owners Association of Nigeria which was signed by the executive assistant to the chairman, Alloy Chukwuemeka, it was decided that the top three clubs will represent the country in CAF inter club competitions for the 2020-21 season.


According to a statement signed by the Executive Secretary of the Club Owners Association, Mr Alloy Chukwuma, after a voting session, only Rangers International of Enugu supported a Super 6 option for winners to emerge for the league. The football outfit also voted that three clubs should represent the country in next season’s continental campaign. It was revealed that Akwa United of Uyo and Lobi Stars of Makurdi abstained from voting.

However, the 17 clubs also voted for neither promotion from the lower cadre nor relegation of any of the NPFL clubs. The votes by the clubs” chieftains were one of the four options tabled by the League Management Company (LMC) on how to end the season disrupted by the COVID-19 pandemic.

The 17 clubs that voted for the season to end were Kwara United, Kano Pillars, Katsina United, Jigawa Golden Stars, and Adamawa United.

The others included Wikki Tourists, MFM, Sunshine Stars Enyimba, Warri Wolves, Abia Warriors, Nasarawa United, FC Ifenayi Ubah, Dakkada, Heartland, Rivers United, and Plateau United.